Lake Minnetonka - Annual Recognition Dinner 2019 - Award Winners, Photos, and Biographies

Thursday, May 2, 2019 at the Wayzata Country Club, Wayzata

Our Volunteers Are Super Heroes!

The Lake Minnetonka District held their 2019 District Dinner and Recognition event on Thursday, May 2, 2019, at the Wayzata Country Club. The friendship and fellowship of all of our volunteers added to the theme of the evening! Thanks to all of you that attended. It was a special evening of food, fun, friendship and fellowship as we celebrated our theme, Ours Volunteers Are Superheroes!, and recognized the District attaining 2018 JTE Gold status; all while honoring our successful units, leaders, and youth in the program over the past year. We announced that Karsten Smith, Alex Vaa, and Brett Schneider, in addition to two others to be called out, have been nominated for the Order of the Arrow Vigil Honor by Totanhan Nakaha Lodge.

In addition to recognizing our Journey to Excellence units in the Bronze, Silver, Gold, and Platinum categories (73% of our units) and our JTE Gold-level District, we noted the 76 Scouts in the District earned their Eagle Scout rank in 2018, and our three Eagle scholarship winners. We awarded 29 Glowing Embers from our units, recognizing their Super Powers that make our units happen. We were excited to honor several outstanding Scouters who are making Scouting happen in their Pack, the Troop and the Lake Minnetonka District – congratulations to all the award winners!

Recognition was also given to our 2019 Lake Minnetonka District Silver Beaver, Nick Pedersen, who received his award at the Council Recognition Dinner in March at the Golden Valley Country Club.

We had a special guest, Charlie Nichols of Troop 409, who was recognized for earlier this year with the Medal of Merit for his life-saving actions last summer.

Finally, we honored our District Award of Merit recipients Scott Patz, Dave Ryan, and Vicki Jurek.

Special thanks to our District Committee and Commissioner staff, especially District Chair Nick Pedersen, District Vice Chair Scott Janke, District Commissioner Nick Fasching, District Community Relations Executive Nicole DeYoung, District Program Relations Jim Bollback, as well as District Committee Members Jeff Pastir, Charlie Jones, Sally Jensen, Nira Rajan, Donna Larson, Tina Ramacier, Andrew Soudbash, Karsten Smith, Julie Terpstra, and Vicki Jurek for presenting during the event. Thanks as well to Lisa Kopatrick, David Larson, Alan Artnson, and Jim Kangas for their work preparing for the District Dinner and awards.

Congratulations to all our volunteers and youth in the District for another successful Scouting year. We celebrate with you and look forward to working with you all in the future to help achieve your goals. If you did not nominate or attend this year's event, please consider attending next year and recognizing your outstanding volunteers.

Let us know what you thought of the evening by using the red Contact Us button to right of the page!

Units that Qualified for Journey to Excellence in 2018

Award Recipients 2018

District Award of Merit

Outstanding Scouter Awards


Alternative Viewing: View photos in SmugMug Gallery

Previous Annual Recognition Dinners
Awards and Photographs

  • 2013
  • 2012
  • 2011
  • 2010
  • 2009
  • 2008
  • 2007
  • 2006

* Unlinked items have not yet been brought over from old website

Free Download or Print and Ship Photos 2019

Award Recipients 2018 - Continued

2018 Silver Beaver Award Recipient

Previous Silver Beaver Award Recipients

William D Boyce Award

Glower Ember Awards

100% Unit Trained Awards

  • Pack 3283 - Wayzata Community Church - Wayzata
  • Pack 3297 - Bethel United Methodist Church - Mound
  • Pack 3429 - Mount Calvary Lutheran - Excelsior
  • Pack 3477 - Christ Memorial Lutheran Church - Plymouth
  • Troop 3206 - Trinity Lutheran Church - Orono
  • Troop 3337 - Victoria Lions Club - Victoria
  • Troop 3569 - Bethel United Methodist Church - Mound
  • Troop 3524 - Mount Calvary Lutheran - Excelsior

Outstanding Contribution Awards

Eagle Scout Scholarship Recipients

Lake Minnetonka WOO-HOO Award

Order of the Arrow Vigil Honor

Award and Training Knots

Den Leader Training Award

Scouter's Training Award

Medal of Merit Award

Individual Awards

Contact Us