Eagle Scouts Should Apply Before Deadline for NESA Scholarships

Know any Eagle Scouts who could use scholarships to help support some higher education? Good news! The National Eagle Scout Association (NESA) Scholarship application process is now open.

NESA has shared an overview with more details on its website.

The application process for Eagle Scouts to access hundreds of thousands of dollars in scholarship money opened on August 1, 2016, but interested Eagle Scouts need to act quickly to make sure they apply before the October 31, 2016 deadline. Eagle Scouts can access application details here.

Bryan on Scouting shared an article about how, during the previous scholarship cycle (2015/2016), more than $640,000 in scholarships were awarded to deserving Eagle Scouts. NESA is hoping to be able to award additional scholarships during the current cycle.

Individual scholarship award amounts range up to $50,000, depending on the focus of the specific scholarship for which an Eagle Scout is applying.

NESA offers specific details on how to apply at its official scholarship application site. Be sure to visit the NESA site for full details and requirements for applying. NESA also offers an FAQ that answers key questions many applicants may have. Applicants are encouraged to read the entire FAQ before applying.

The available scholarships fall into two main categories, academic and merit.

Academic Scholarships

  • According to NESA, academic scholarships are based on school and Scouting participation, academic performance, and financial need. Applicants must score a minimum 1800 SAT (if taken before January, 2016), 1290 (if taken after March, 2016), or 28 ACT to apply.
  • NESA also states that academic scholarship applicants must be Eagle Scouts applying during their senior year of high school. Exception: Scouts whose Eagle Scout boards of review are held after October 31 of their senior year may apply during the next scholarship cycle in the following year even though they may be in college by this time.
  • Winners may receive a scholarship one time only.

Merit Scholarships

  • According to NESA, merit scholarships are based on school and Scouting participation, and community service.
  • NESA merit scholarship applicants must be Eagle Scouts graduating high school or undergraduate college students no farther than completion of the junior year.
  • Recipients may receive the scholarship one time only.

Be sure to read the full Bryan on Scouting article for more details on these NESA scholarships.


Leave a Comment

Contact Us